Islamic New Year

Essay On Islamic New Year 1444 AH

As Muslims, we are accustomed to following the Islamic Hijri Calendar to mark essential non-secular activities and rituals like fasting Ramadan, celebrating Eid, and going to Hajj. However, did you realize that the Hijri calendar holds a far more profound spiritual and historical meaning?

Islamic Calendar is also known as the Lunar or Hijri calendar. Before that, Arabia used the lunisolar calendar, which was based on the phases of the moon, and seasons as well. Islamic Calendar was first introduced by Umar Ibn al-Khattab, in 637/638 AD. After asking about the Prophet’s (saw) Companions, Umar Ibn al-Khattabconcluded that the year of the Prophet’s (saw) immigration should become the beginning of the Islamic calendar. Hijra was an important event in the Islamic world that brought about the Islamic nation; therefore, they named the new dating system the Hijri calendar. Many of the companions wanted the month of Ramadan to be the start of the calendar. Some Sahabi suggested the calendar can start from the death of the Prophet (saw)., However, this idea was rejected because it was a time of sorrow. Another proposed the birth of the Prophet (saw), but that was also not suitable because nobody was sure on which year the Prophet (saw) was born, but Umar thought that Muharram would be the most appropriate to be the first month of the Hijri calendar because it is when the Hajj season is over. Muharram is one of the Sacred Months. It is the first month of the Hijri year, meaning (Forbidden) because fighting is forbidden during it. Several important events happened during the duration of Muharram, with the crucial date, the Day of Ashura, which occurs on the 10th day. Muslims worldwide use it to determine the dates of religious occasions and observances. This 1444 Islamic calendar is based on 12 lunar months. A new month starts to evolve when a new moon is sighted. There are a total of 12 Islamic months according to the Hijri calendar. The whole Islamic month is as follows:

  1. Muharram
  2. Safar
  3. Rabi Al Awwal
  4. Rabi al-Thani
  5. Jumada al-Awwal
  6. Jumada al-Thani
  7. Rajab
  8. Sha’ban
  9. Ramadan
  10. Shawwal
  11. Dhul al-Qadah
  12. DhulHijjah

The Islamic calendar isn’t always the simplest crucial for us to commemorate big Islamic occasions. Still, the truth that it begins from the Hijra serves as a crucial reminder of the sacrifice for the motive of reality and the protection of the Revelation. As the Muslims sacrificed everything, from their wealth to familial ties, to migrate from Makkah to Madinah to preserve their religion. Through the Hijri calendar, Allah (SWT) teaches us that the struggle between reality and evil is eternal. As Muslims, we’re constantly combating this battle as we sacrifice our pleasures and dreams for the path to righteousness and Jannah.

Religious vacations and festivals are crucial instances in the lives of Muslims. There are several days set apart as holidays to have fun or reflect on certain activities within the records of Islam. The two maximum vitalfestivals are Eid Al-Fitr and Eid Al-Adha.

Al Hijrah – Al Hijrah celebrates the Islamic New year and takes area on the first day of the month of Muharram. It marks the day Muhammad and his followers travelled from Mecca to Medina. This vacation is sometimes referred to as simply “Muharram.” Muslims typically spend the day quietly in prayers.

Ashura – This holiday is a day of fasting that takes place on the 10th of Muharram.

Milad-un-Nabi – This day celebrates the beginning of Muhammad and takes place on the 12th day of Rabi al-Awwal. It is frequently celebrated nowadays.

Ramadan – Ramadan is the ninth month of the Islamic calendar. It is unique to Muslims because it’s far from the month when the Quran turned into discovered by Muhammad. During Ramadan, Muslims rapidly (don’t eat or drink) from sunrise to sundown.

Laylat al-Qadr – this present day is also called the nighttime of power. It takes area close to the stop of Ramadan and commemorates the nighttime the Quran was first given to Muhammad.

Eid al-Fitr – It’s far celebrated on the 1st day of the month of Shawwal after Ramadan. Muslim households often get together for meals and exchange presents and Eidis.

Eid al-Adha – This is perhaps the essential festival in the Islamic calendar. It starts on the 10th day of Dhu al-Hijjah and ends on the 13th. This festive commemorates how Ibrahim (Abraham) become willing to sacrifice his son Isaac on Allah’s command. Celebrations encompass a circle of relatives gatherings, food, animal sacrifice for food, and giving items.

Muslims have numerous exclusive opportunities, so one can make the maximum of the Islamic months, choosing to donate Zakat at any time of the 12 months. One can also provide dua during the sacred months, make charitable donations during the year, give SadaqahJariyah at any point and reap the rewards from Allah (SWT).

Essay writers in UAE provide exceptional essays on any topic. In case of any further guidance, Assignment Help UAE is here to help you out in the best possible manner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.